Other

Baumgart’s Cafe

I’ve been going to Baumgart’s for as long as I can remember. Baumgart’s is a small chain of Chinese/American restaurants in Northern New Jersey (Specifically Bergen County). There’s 3 of them within 20 minutes of my hometown. They have a variety of Chinese and Japanese dishes, and throw in some American classics as well, to satisfy all possible tastebuds.

Because I’ve been there dozens of times, I’ve gotten down my order to a science and know exactly what tastes the best and what doesn’t. This picture is exactly what I get every time (as long as there’s at least 3 of us eating).

Appetizers:

Vegetable fried dumplings: easily the best dumplings I’ve had. So crunchy on one side, soft on the other, and delicious vegetable medley on the inside with a great dipping sauce. $7.50

Chicken with Pine Nuts: These are actually lettuce wraps, but I couldn’t get the giant iceburg pieces in the photo. Ground chicken with pine nuts and scallions. So good. $9.00

Entrees: 

Sesame Chicken: There is no sesame chicken in the world that compares to Baumgarts’. I’ve been eating this for a minimum of 11 years, and have yet to find a sesame chicken that is even half as good. It’s white meat chicken that is so juicy on the inside and crunchy on the outside I still just don’t understand how they do it. Served with steamed broccoli and white or brown rice, it’s worth every cent of the $17 you spend on it.

Vegetable Lo Mein:  I like Baumgart’s lomein because it’s thick noodles that pack a lot of flavor inside of them. They aren’t greasy, and are a big enough portion to be satisfied if that’s all you ordered. $14

Definitely try out a Baumgart’s if you find yourself in Bergen County!

 

Leave a Reply

