New York City

The Smith 

 


I’ve heard so many things about The Smith, and had been wanting to try it for a while. Pictures of their macaroni and cheese skillet have been appearing on my Instagram feed for as long as I can remember. So, last weekend my friends and I decided to go to brunch at The Smith and see what all the fuss was about.

We went to the Flatiron location, on the corner 27th and Broadway (just a block away from my office!). We stared with some iced cappuccinos and of course ordered the macaroni and cheese as well as some fried calamari.

The macaroni and cheese was amazing. The $15 skillet was smaller than it appeared to be online, by that’s Manhattan for ya! It was creamy, salty, and crunchy at the top. I don’t think any of us even got the chance to breathe because of how fast we inhaled it. The pasta was cooked perfectly, not too mushy but not quite al dente.

I ordered a Sicilian egg bake, which had two sunny side up eggs baked with spicy tomato sauce, artichokes, and spinach. It came alongside two pieces of their homemade bread. Honestly, I was way too full from the appetizers that I didn’t get to enjoy the meal properly, but it was pretty good. I don’t think I’d order it again, but that’s because I’m not exactly a breakfast-food person when it comes to other options at restaurants.

Our bill for 4 people was $127, and came out to $40 a person with tip. All in all, a great restaurant and I’ll definitely be back for dinner to try some of the other things they have.

2 thoughts on “The Smith 

Leave a Reply

